What Pleasures Are You Denying Yourself? 

It’s Sunday evening and i’m out on my usual walk in the park, Dressed as Casual as always with my headphones plugged to an mp3 player and volume dialed to the highest.
People were moving all over,  having fun and catching up with friends and all sorts of other things you could possibly imagine people doing in a Park. I sat at a corner and watched for some time, looking for someone to cheer up and remind how wonderful life can be.  As i looked around i noticed a group of adults and a little kid on Roller Skates just on the other side of the park  and i moved closer to watch them,  the kid appeared to be their instructor as he was the only person that wasn’t falling and getting up.  I have always enjoyed skating and watching people skate so i moved even closer with a huge Grin on my face and hoping one of them would call me over to try.

I didn’t want to just stand there looking lost so i sat down on a close by platform. There was a young lady just sitting there, alone and looking towards another direction, just looking at the empty space,  I said “hello” and she reluctantly said “hi”.  Still looking towards the empty space.  I asked if she was waiting for someone and she said she just came out to get some air, conversation started flowing and i asked why she wasn’t watching the skaters, she said it was childish and she was too old for that. I kept quite for a moment and she continued,  she told me how she had always wanted to learn how to skate and how she fell flat on the ground the first time she tried.  As she talked i couldn’t help to notice how happy recalling the memory made her, I waited until she was done then I told her about how I was hoping to get a chance to try skating that evening.

I looked up and one of the adults learning with the little kid was already exhausted and just sitting,  I asked to try on his skates for a minute and he was happy to pull them off.  I took them back to where i was sitting and looked at the young lady,  and said.

 “You are never too old to do what you love” 

She smiled and took the skates from me and put them on.  Lol.  She fell more times than i could count and everyone was laughing hard at the way she would caress the ground each time she fell. At the end of it all,  she was really Glad and in her words “this evening really turned out better than i expected,  I am Glad i did this

What Pleasures are you denying yourself because you feel you are too old for it??

Let me know,  leave a comment Below!

Leave a comment